Fashion Police turn Grammar Police


I hate to admit it, but I am that obnoxious person who corrects your grammar.

You are doing well not good (unless you’re out volunteering). End of story.

While I am far from perfect (go ahead, search through all my posts, you’re sure to find several mistakes), I try my best to use proper grammar and I understand it’s importance especially in presenting yourself. The way you speak and write are valuable reflections of yourself. I think people can generally agree that this is true, right?

Okay, that being said, who on earth would by this shirt from Wet Seal:

Is this a fashion statement or the result of outsourcing clothing design to non-English speaking countries?

While I could take this moment to comment on fashion’s fondness for t-shirts with distasteful and tacky messages, I would rather concentrate on this whole new level of offensiveness. Wet Seal’s primary customers are young (and impressionable?)  girls and women. In a day in age where teachers complain that kids use “texting lingo” in school essays, do we really need another reminder of our society’s grammatical failures?

So was this spelling error intentional or a careless mistake? The company has been a bit unclear about the truth behind the t-shirt. In response to the publicity, Wet Seal’s official Twitter page tweeted:
“It’s a fashion statement … I am jealous for you’re [sic] keen eye for grammatical errors though.”

We can assume this second mix up of the proper “your/you’re”s was a joke and I applaud them for their wit, however I simply cannot get over the t-shirt. I don’t know, am I over-reacting or is this disregard for proper grammar especially annoying? Weigh in and let me hear what you think!

In the meantime, I think I’ll carry a sharpie around with me so I can add an ‘e’ and apostrophe to anyone I see wearing this shirt.

3 Comments

  1. AHHH! This shirt would send me into seizures! So glad I am not the only one whose blood pressure rises on account of these sorts of grammatical offenses. I COMPLETELY support arming all the grammar Nazis of the world (myself included) with Sharpies and Wite-Out. We could make the world better one misplaced apostrophe at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

