UK does Jersey Shore


As a follow-up to my last post,  Jersey Shore: How Wilde!, I received an email from a fellow blogger who informed me that if I want to see more crazy Jersey-Shore-esque shenanigans with British accents, I need look no further than UK television. In fact, MTV UK is launching Geordie Shore, a Jersey Shore spin-off, next month. Take a look at this video from newsy.com. Same ridiculous dialogue (and characters) as the original, but now with British accents.

I find the fact that Britain is making their own Jersey Shore especially interesting after having had studied abroad there last year. One night, as my flatmates and I sat around watching television, there was a commercial that came on for a bunch of American reality shows that have apparently made the hop across the pond. I believe the shows were The Hills (or one of those thousands of spin-offs) and the Jersey Shore itself. The commercial proclaimed them as something like “real America,” a thought that absolutely horrified me.

I understand that the British, even world perception of America isn’t exactly the most positive. I can even understand it in many cases. Therefore, I was appalled to find out that many of these negative opinions were based around “reality” television shows and their lack of actual “reality.”

Now, however, it seems like the tables have turned. I’m surprised about Geordie Shore, but in a way it’s a comfort to know that we’re not the only country who enjoy watching our citizens make fools of themselves in front of millions of people. I guess we all have guilty pleasures, let’s just hope stupidity isn’t contagious.

So what do you think? Will Geordie Shore be as ridiculous as its predecessor? Will it be as big of a hit? Or does none of this actually matter, and am I being a bit too harsh?

Leave a Reply

